The Forum of Slavic Cultures is an international foundation, a non-profit and non-government organization, whose idea emerged in the cultural circles at the turn of the 21th century.

FSC was officially founded in 2004, and the founding member states were Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Poland, Russia, Slovenia, and Serbia and Montenegro. Soon they were joined by Belarus, the Czech Republic, Slovakia and Ukraine, so that today the Forum unites thirteen Slavic countries.

The founding meeting of the Forum of Slavic Cultures took place in Ljubljana, 29 June 2004. The session was attended by the then Slovenian Minister of Culture Ms. Andreja Rihter, the academician Nikola Popov from Bulgaria, the professor Aida Abadžić Hodžić from Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Croatian Minister of Culture Božo Biškupić, the academician Svyatoslav Igoryevich Belza from Russia and the Montenegro Minister of Culture Vesna Kilibarda from the then joint state of Serbia and Montenegro.

In the same session Ms. Andreja Rihter was unanimously elected the Chairperson of the first Board of the Forum of Slavic Cultures, while the provisional Rules of Procedure were also adopted. As the members of the first Board – besides the above mentioned – the participants confirmed the Dean of the Skopje Philological Faculty Venko Andonovski, the Krakow University professor Jacek Purchla and the Serbian-Montenegro Minister of Culture Dragan Kojadinović.